2015 Retrospective

Posted: January 4, 2016 in Uncategorized

There’s something about starting a new year that makes a person want to look back on the old one. Perhaps it’s the idea of starting fresh. Maybe we are simply looking for proof that the year, which has already so swiftly passed us by, has not been wasted. Whatever the reason, when I look back I always find far more achievements and milestones than I expected.

And so, without further ado, here is 2015 as it flew past me:

Starting the year off right I auditioned for a local theatre company’s production of Bea Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table, a show about what happens when the girls of a LARP group decide they would prefer the Golden Girls to King Arthur. It was a blast, probably one of the most entertaining shows I’ve ever been involved with.

Shortly after the end of the show’s run I had my first medical emergency in the form of an appendicitis. At the time, I felt that it took the medical staff an awfully long time to confirm what had been my top concern bringing me to the ER in the first place. In retrospect, they were just covering their bases, because nothing would suck more than dealing with a removed appendix and then finding out that wasn’t your problem.

Before I knew it summer was upon us and I was working my butt off writing a short story for Michael J. Sullivan’s contest. He was running one in conjunction with his Kickstarter for The Death of Dulgath (Riyria Chronicles #3) and I threw my hat in the ring. I did not even make the final round but the feedback from the experience from both friends, family, and Sullivan was wonderful. (If you write, it’s worth checking out his blanket feedback post. Looking at the list of common problems I could see some of mine right away, things to keep in mind in the future.)

November came around, and with it NaNoWriMo. For once in the many times I’ve attempted it… I won! It was rough, and it involved a week of 3,000 words per day to make it happen, but the satisfaction I felt made it all worth it. It felt so good to just write something without a care about how good it was, without worrying about word choices and be able to start something completely fresh and finish it. Someday I’ll come back to it and turn it into something more than it is currently, but no hurry.

Finally, I ended my year as I started it: with theatre. I had the opportunity to participate in a live reading of William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: A New Hope. In doing so I got to reconnect with one of my Golden Girls pals (who read C3PO) and happened upon the chance to read Leia. It’s no Han Solo, but it was tons of fun. I even got to sing in it, because that’s what the script required. We had audience participation in the form of laser noises and one lucky member performing Chewbacca on cue. A little bit of name dropping, we shared the stage with Green Bay Packer Ahman Green. He was a fantastic Darth Vader complete with a Force choke hold and spinning out of control back to his seat when his TIE Fighter was destroyed.

All in all, a great year. I can’t wait to see what this year has in store.

Leave a Reply

