NaNoWriMo: It Could be a Spectator’s Sport

Posted: November 13, 2014 in Web Goodies
Tags: , , ,

So I’m behind on word count. What else is new?

However, there are a lot of people who are NOT behind on word count and doing a fantastic job putting their writing where their mouth is.

For instance, lets take a look at Alex Grover who is writing a novel. He is not only participating in NaNoWriMo but also No-Shave November. Every day he’s been putting up a post detailing how his beard is growing in as well as the ups and downs of his word count. Last I saw he was kicking his novel’s ass. I wish I had the time to keep up with it day to day because he’s posting pictures, word counts, anecdotes, and snippets from his novel in progress.

The Daily 400 just had a charming post about the things authors research even though they aren’t serial killers. He’s also been updating his blog with his word counts and doing a phenomenal job.

Spilled Ink recently reported skipping three days of writing, no big though because she was already so far ahead she was still ahead by 1,000 words at the end of her hiatus.

They have skills.

I’m telling you, there are some motivated, dedicated people out there, and many of them are detailing their writing journeys on their blogs. Some people say they do it because it keeps them honest and accountable. Others maybe just get caught up in the craziness of a month and want to detail their journey for posterity. For those people looking to procrastinate, or live vicariously through other people there is lots of fun to be had by just seeing what other people are doing.

Me? I need to put my big girl pants on and start writing on weekends. I had plans to get it done weekdays only and having my weekends free to fraternize. Then I got sick and my word counts took a dive. I’m 10,000 words behind and if I keep to my original schedule I need to put in 4,000 word days. That is not happening, because today was supposed to be one of them, and the brain is not able to work that hard.

In order to pull ahead and win I’m going to have to write like the wind. If I pretend I’m George R. R. Martin I have a theme song to spur me onward.

In fact, I could also pretend I’m fellow Wisconsinite Patrick Rothfuss.

Now if only I could grow me an epic beard…

Comments
  1. Thanks for the shout-out! Maybe wear a fake beard?

    You can do it! My advice is chuck all common sense out the window. I started trying to come up with something cohesive, but it’s not working for me. Now I’m looking at the list of sticky notes for scene ideas that I have on the wall in my laundry room and I’m writing another one in each night. Connect the dots later. Or leave them unconnected and see if the reader figures it out. Stranger things have been done.

    Good luck!!!!

  2. […] to Susie Toman for talking about yesterday’s post on her blog! Also for having the video of the […]

Leave a Reply

