Double Digits!

Posted: April 22, 2013 in Twelve
Tags: , ,

I’m lagging behind (as is generally my MO) but as of today I have officially hit the double digits. I stand at a mere 10,062 words (the goal I set for this month was 25,000) but it feels good to have at least gotten to the double digits. The week ahead is crazy busy. I’m working late three nights this week. My hope is that in the down time between my regular work day and the extended shift of interpreting after school activities I can sit down and force myself to be creative and productive.

I found that if I put my nose to the grindstone I can do about 1,000 words in an hour. I have over an hour of down time, but that includes time to heat up my dinner and time to let my brain relax. By the time you fit in a bathroom break I have about an hour to focus. 1,000 words is less than the number I now need per day in order to accomplish my goal. As the final full week looms before me I’ve decided to get myself ready for defeat for the third time in the past eight months.

I don’t think of it as complete and utter defeat but, geez, could they pick busier months for me to have a writing competition against myself? My new self-imposed goal is to at least make it to 15,000. I feel that number is respectable, and would put me well into revisions for my novel.

Honestly, I don’t feel that bad about not meeting my declared goal. I’ve been looking at every NaNo as an opportunity to write. (Have I written that before? Sometimes I feel like I talk in circles.) It’s not even just an opportunity to write, I have those opportunities any time I wish, but it’s an opportunity to race against the clock and feel a sense of community with others just like me, struggling to accomplish something great.

Understanding how my brain worked last week and my need for downtime lest I burn out, the best I can hope to accomplish this week is another 3,000 words. This puts me in prime position to write Sunday, Monday, Tuesday and accomplish the 15,000. If I become particularly driven, insane, or prolifically long winded it may be possible to hit 20,000 (just shy of my 25,000 goal) but I’m not going to hold my breath on that one.

10,062/25,000

Leave a Reply

