Chapter 2 Finished!

Posted: April 15, 2013 in Twelve
Tags: , ,

As I believe I mentioned before, this month is CampNano, and I’m looking forward to making some serious headway. Looking at the minor goals I set for myself upon starting this endeavor, I’m about 1,500 words away from reaching my monthly goal. Clearly I should have set my sights a little bit higher when planning for rewriting this thing. Anyways, that hardly matters because I’m behind on my word count for Nano. Big surprise, right?

Let’s have a short discussion/monologue about goals, shall we? Goals are a beautiful thing. They push people to try harder, to do their best, to do more than they ever thought possible within a time constraint. Goals keep people from floundering. Case in point: See Exhibit Me. I’m what you would call a classic procrastinator. Goals give me something to achieve…but only under direst pressure. Without the feeling that things are slipping out beneath my feet and I need to try harder to keep up with the falling bridge I will take my time, write the minimum, and say, “I wrote something, and that’s better than nothing, right?” As previously mentioned, I have a lot on my plate. My day starts early and ends as late as I can postpone it while still being able to wake up the next day and do it all over again. I find a great many excuses why I can’t sit down and write. The top offender is, “I had a really long day, my brain is exhausted, I just need to sit down and chill.”

Thinking of excuses, I’ve used a lot of them this month. We are two weeks into CampNano, I’m thousands of words behind (try 6,000), and last week most of my days were compiled of coming home and deciding I was too tired to sit down and type. This is my problem every Nano I’ve done. I like the goals, I strive for the goal, but inevitably I fall behind and give myself a pat on the back for at least trying to write my ass off and succeeding in doing half of my goal.

According to my stats I need to amp up my word count to over 1,000 words per day to make it to my goal.

The silly counter doesn’t know I have days when writing just will not happen.

What it really means to say is that I need to write about 2,000 per day to make up for what I don’t get done on Fridays and Saturdays. My hope is to amp up the word count in the next several days to double what I was originally scheduled to do, which means writing what those going for 50,000 words need to do every day. If I do this, I should be able to bring up my deficit by the end of the week.

In doing this, I may have a problem of needing to outline my story further. I have another monologue on the back burner about outlining. Really it’s about how I never thought I needed to do it until now. I have since outlined the first 10 chapters. I feel a great desire to further outline. This puts me behind my writing goal. I should technically not be writing this post and just focus my efforts on Nano…but I like having a break.

6,417/25,000

Leave a Reply

