This Is My Blog

Posted: March 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

People are hardwired for the sharing of stories.

Just take a moment to think about it. How many times have you suddenly felt a strong urge to tell someone about your day? “You’ll never guess what happened on my way to/while I was at/ after I left _fill in the blank_.” I know I’m guilty of doing this all the time. Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t think so.

We are storytellers. Everything we know is because of the intense need to share our stories. I know some of you are waving your hands in the air right now to object. “Wait a minute,” you say, “What about all the stuff I learned in math and science class? Those are cold hard facts. There’s nothing even reminiscent of a story in all that information they pumped into me.” Yes, the way the information was presented was in the form of unwavering fact after fact, or order of operation. (Now that I think of it, order of operation is kind of like a story in and of itself. It has a beginning, middle and end. It’s not interesting, but it has order.) Order of operation aside, whether it be a story or not, the way the information was gained is a story. The guy who discovered the foil method of multiplication worked his ass off and then Eureka! he had to go tell his buddy what he just discovered.

I really like imagining mathematicians and scientists discovering something really complex and then crying out, “Bernie! Hey, Bernie, come over here! No, you gotta see this I was looking at this slide and then I saw…I was all…and I was thinking…”

Even news reports who claim to be “just the facts, ma’am” are telling the story of an incident, even if it is filtered to exclude their own personal opinions on the matter (or at least are supposed to be).

With the internet it is easier than ever to share our stories in a variety of forms, from the instantly gratifying to our magnum opus. People can tweet their life story in a matter of moments, giving everyone a play-by-play of their day-to-day life. I’m not saying it’s interesting, but they’re sharing. For those who only want to give people the most important facts of their lives in shorthand form, there’s facebook. A person can announce the story of being engaged with a picture and a few well chosen sentences, and then everyone can give their review of the event by posting a response in a likewise shorthanded fashion.

And then we have this. The blog. The place for people to share their life stories and opinions to whomever might decide to listen. The ability to share one’s thoughts in writing was previously the role of the diary/journal or the editorial column. Now, anyone who feels the need to spill their ideas onto a page with an audience can start a blog and try their hand at it. Don’t take that sentence too harshly. I’m not saying that blogging should be only the privilege of the elite. I’m just saying that it’s become mainstream, like so much else that of the internet. Things that used to be private are now shared with everyone. That’s the culture we now inhabit.

The internet allows us to share what once did not have an audience. How many people are interested in someone making model dinosaurs in the likeness of movie stars? Well, back in the day it wouldn’t have been enough to get a magazine or a television show but on the internet where readership includes absolutely everyone there could be enough people out there to have their own message board community. (I just had to google it. Either my skills are not sufficient enough to get a good result or it doesn’t exist in the numbers for google to put it on the front page. However, I do know there’s plenty of people who modify My Little Ponies to look like a variety of well-known characters. They have enough pull to have their own convention. How many people do I know in real life who do this? None. Are there lots of people who participate and show their work on the internet? Why yes. Yes there is, and it’s so cool.)

Back to the point. The point is, there are people interested in reading things, they just have to wait for someone to decide to share their story so they can stumble upon it. I hope to find out that people stumble upon this blog and find my observations interesting enough to read. What is this blog about, you ask? It could be about a great many things. Specifically, I’m hoping to use this as an outlet to voice my observations, frustrations, and triumphs as I write my way through a novel. Yes. I know. It’s cliche. Everyone and their mother wants to write a novel. The internet is full of people who write. This blog is not about my novel. Not in the most obvious way, at least.

I don’t want to use this as a soapbox to talk about my characters, my plot, my ideas…at least, not in a situation specific way. As I write I notice things about the experience of writing, and it is these things I wish to share and perhaps even receive responses on. I want to be able to reminisce about the experience of writing fanfiction back when I was a teenager, about the struggles of finding a time and place to write that is productive now that I’m a working adult, about the rush of nerves and excitement at handing over a first draft to a friend and saying, “Would you mind reading this?”, the moment of uncertainty when they hand it back to you and you say, “So…how was it? You can tell me if it was crap. It’s a learning experience.”

Those are the kinds of things I want to share. Those are the kinds of things I want to hear others respond to.

To wrap this first post up I guess I’ll just say, “This is my blog. There are many others like it, but this one is mine. I hope you enjoy.”

 

Leave a Reply

